Skip to main content


Professor Juna Kollmeier appointed as CITA’s New Director

Professor Juna Kollmeier has been appointed the next CITA Director starting July 2021. She will advance the Institute’s renowned successes and discoveries on the origin and evolution of the universe, and the many other phenomena discovered by modern astronomy.

Professor Kollmeier is on faculty and serves as the founding director of the Carnegie Theoretical Astrophysics Center at T…

Planetary system with a star that rotates backwards

Planetary system with a star that rotates backwards

Caption: This artist illustration depicts the exoplanetary system in K2-290. It shows the main star K2-290 A, its two planets, and in the background the smaller companion K2-290 B. The unique feature of the K2-290 system is that the planetary host star (K2-290 A) rotates backwards with respect to the coplanar orbital motion of its two planets. When it was only a few million years old, t…

Professor Norman Murray named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Professor Norman Murray

Norman Murray, director of the Faculty of Arts & Science’s Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (CITA), has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Murray is receiving the prestigious distinction “for theoretical work providing key insights into a broad range of astrophysical topics encompassing planetary science, star…

CHIME Wins Prestigious Governor General’s Innovation Award

the Canadian Hydrogen Intensity Mapping Experiment

The team behind the Canadian-based radio telescope CHIME (the Canadian Hydrogen Intensity Mapping Experiment) has been awarded the fifth annual Governor General’s Innovation Award.

Announced Tuesday by the Rideau Hall Foundation, these awards recognize and celebrate exceptional Canadian individuals, teams, and organizations who have “developed new or better ways of creating value and who…

The Hubble Trouble is not a CMB one according to major new Atacama Cosmology Telescope results: The Deep Universe Tension with the Nearby Universe continues

The Atacama Cosmology Telescope

From a mountain high in Chile’s Atacama Desert, astronomers with the National Science Foundation’s Atacama Cosmology Telescope (ACT) have taken a fresh look at the oldest light in the universe. Their new observations plus a bit of cosmic geometry suggest that the universe is 13.77 billion years old, give or take 40 million years.

The new estimate matches the one provided by t…

University Professor Dick Bond named a Fellow of the American Astronomical Society

Professor Dick Bond

University Professor Dick Bond of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics and the David A. Dunlap Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics has been named one of the inaugural Fellows of the American Astronomical Society.

Bond is a cosmologist in the Faculty of Arts & Science whose theoretical work ranges from the ultra-early to the ultra-late universe. He is best…

Dr. Peebles’s Universe: Canadian-born cosmologist James Peebles celebrates Nobel physics prize win

Professor James Peebles

For many science enthusiasts, James Peebles made his most memorable debut while riding his bicycle across their television screens during a 1978 PBS documentary about the Big Bang theory.
Now 84, the Princeton University professor from St. Boniface, Man., is back in the public eye, this time as a recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics for his many contributions to humanity’s understanding…

Prof. Ue-Li Pen wins the Humboldt Award

Peofessor Ue-Li Pen

Ue-Li Pen selected by the Simons Foundation to receive a 2018 Simons Investigators award

Peofessor Ue-Li Pen

Theoretical astrophysicist, Ue-Li Pen, has been selected by the Simons Foundation to receive a 2018 Simons Investigators award.

Pen, interim director of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics in the Faculty of Arts & Science at U of T, joins 15 others honoured from across North America and Europe. He is the second researcher at a Canadian institution – and the first…

The Gruber Foundation 2018 Cosmology Prize to Planck Team (including Dick Bond, Peter Martin)

Reconstruction of primordial curvature

“The Gruber Foundation is pleased to present the 2018 Cosmology Prize to the Planck Team, and to Jean-Loup Puget and Nazzareno Mandolesi, the leaders of the HFI and LFI instrument consortia, for mapping the temperature and polarization of the cosmic microwave background radiation with the ESA Planck spacecraft.

Planck measured, with unprecedented precision, the matter content and geometry of…

Copyright ©2019. All Rights Reserved.