National Fellowship




As part of its mandate to promote research throughout Canada, the Institute provides partial support for postdoctoral fellows working in theoretical astrophysics or closely related fields at Canadian universities other than the University of Toronto, through the CITA Fellowship Program.

If you are interested in a CITA National Fellowship, please contact any of the following faculty by email or check department websites for further research projects and details.

Bishop’s University
Professor Email Research Interests
  • Lorne Nelson  Compact & Interacting Binaries; Type la supernovae
Ciela Institute at the University of Montreal 
Professor Email Website
  • Yashar Hezaveh 
Dalhouse University
Professor Email Website
  • Alan Coley 
McGill University
For specific inquiries regarding research groups at McGill, please contact the relevant faculty member. For generic inquiries regarding holding the fellowship at McGill, please contact Prof. Adrian Liu, TSI Fellowships Committee Chair
Professor Email Website
  • Adrian Liu 
  • Eve J Lee 
  • H. Cynthia Chiang 
  • Jonathan Le Roy Sievers
  • Katelin Schutz 
  • Nicolas B. Cowan
  • Victoria Kaspi 
McMaster University
Professor Email Website
  • Sergey Sibiryakov 
Saint Mary’s University
Professor Email Website
  • Marcin Sawicki
Simon Fraser University
Professor Email Website(s)
  • Levon Pogosian
The University of British Columbia
Professor Email Website
  • Allison Man 
  • Mark Halpern
The University of Manitoba
Professor Email Website(s)
  • Tyrone E. Woods
  • Samar Safi-Harb
Université de Montréal
Professor Email Website
  • Julie Hlavacek-Larrondo 
University of Victoria
Professor Email Website
  • Sara Ellison 
  • Julio Navarro
University of Waterloo Centre For Astrophysics
Professor Email Website
  • Mike Hudson 

  • Niayesh Afshordi 
  • Will Percival 
Western University
Professor Email Website
  • Shantanu Basu 


 Interested applicants should apply online at

Application instructions:

  • Check off the Fellowship you are interested in applying to.
  • You are required to submit a CV, research statement and arrange for three letters of recommendation.

Deadline to apply: November 6, 2023

Please contact for any inquiries


Diversity Statement

The University of Toronto embraces Diversity and is building a culture of belonging that increases our capacity to effectively address and serve the interests of our global community. We strongly encourage applications from Indigenous Peoples, Black and racialized persons, women, persons with disabilities, and people of diverse sexual and gender identities. We value applicants who have demonstrated a commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion and recognize that diverse perspectives, experiences, and expertise are essential to strengthening our academic mission.

Accessibility Statement

The University strives to be an equitable and inclusive community, and proactively seeks to increase diversity among its community members. Our values regarding equity and diversity are linked with our unwavering commitment to excellence in the pursuit of our academic mission. The University is committed to the principles of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA). As such, we strive to make our recruitment, assessment and selection processes as accessible as possible and provide accommodations as required for applicants with disabilities.

 To ensure your full inclusion throughout the recruitment/hiring process, please reach out to