2006 – Scott Tremaine

Scott Tremaine, the first Director of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics, is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and of Canada, and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

He is the recipient of the Warner, Heinemann, and Brouwer awards of the American Astronomical Society, the Beals Award of the Canadian Astronomical Society, and the Steacie Prize (NSERC) and honourary Doctor of Science degrees from McMaster and St. Mary’s University. His research is focused on the dynamics and evolution of a wide variety of astrophysical systems, including comets, galaxies, massive black holes, planetary rings, and planetary systems.


Public Lecture: New Worlds: The Search for Planets Outside the Solar System

Technical Talk: The Long-Term Stability of Planetary Systems